Biography of Shri Lal Thanhawla- The Current Chief Minister of Mizoram

Lal Thanhawla (conceived 19 May 1942) is an Indian government official who has been the Chief Minister of Mizoram since 11 December 2008. Already he was Chief Minister from 1984 to 1986 and from 1989 to 1998. He was chosen to another term in the 2013 Mizoram Legislative Assembly decision. This was the fifth time he was chosen to the workplace of Chief Minister, which is a record in Mizoram. He has a place with the Indian National Congress. His appointive bodies electorate are Serchhip and Hrangturzo. He effectively challenged the general races nine times, in 1978, 1979, 1984, 1987, 1993, 2003, 2008, and 2013.

Keep an eye on the Complete List of Chief Ministers of Mizoram

Early life

Lal Thanhawla is the child of Hmartawnphunga Sailo and Lalsawmliani Chawngthu. He finished registration in 1958. He passed his middle of the road examination (higher optional) in expressions in 1961. From there on, he considered BA at Pachhunga University College (at that point Aijal College), which was then subsidiary to Gauhati University. He graduated in 1964.


Biography of the Current Chief Minister of Mizoram Shri Lal Thanhawla

Lal Thanhawla began his vocation as Recorder in the workplace of Inspector of Schools under the Mizoram District Council, which was thusly under the Government of Assam. From that point onward, he joined the Assam Co-agent Apex Bank as Assistant. In 1966, he joined the underground development called Mizo National Front (MNF) as Foreign Secretary. He was caught and detained at Silchar imprison. He was discharged in 1967 and joined the Indian National Congress party. He was quickly named to the Chief Organizer of the Aizawl District Congress Committee. In 1973 he was chosen President of the Mizoram Pradesh Congress Committee, and kept on winning the administration in each decision till date. In 1978 and 1979 he was chosen as a Legislator in Union Territory Elections. In 1984, under his authority, the Congress party cleared the state and he turned into the Chief Minister. In 1986, when the Mizoram Peace Accord was marked amongst India and MNF, he ventured down from his office to clear a path for Pu Laldenga, the pioneer of MNF, to end up the Chief Minister. This was a piece of the transaction and settlement of the agreement, and he was assigned Deputy Chief Minister. At that point Mizoram was announced a full province of India. In the primary Mizoram Legislative Assembly race held in 1987, he was chosen and after Laldenga was toppled through surrenders, turned into the Chief Minister in 1988. He proceeded with the workplace in the wake of being re-chosen in the 1989 and 1993 decisions. In 1998 he lost the race, the main time since his political vocation began. He in the long run recovered in the 2003 races. At present he is chosen from both Serchhip and Hrangturzo constituencies.

Get the Complete List of Presidents of India

In the 2013 Mizoram Assembly Elections, Thanhawla drove the decision Congress gathering to a triumph winning 34 situates in the 40-part authoritative get together, two seats more than in the 2008 race. The significant restriction party Mizo National Front (MNF) scarcely won five seats, while Mizoram People’s Conference (MPC) won only one seat.

Different exercises

Lal Thanhawla is an effectively included games and deliberate administrations. Among his significant commitments are as:

Author President of Mizoram Football Association

Author President of Mizoram Sports Association

Author President of Mizoram Hockey Association

Author Secretary of Mizoram Boxing Association

Author Secretary of Aijal Amateur Athletic Club

Author President of Mizoram Olympic Association

Previous President of Indian Olympic Association

Executive of North East Olympic Commission

Author President of Mizoram Journalists Association

Author supervisor of Mizo Aw (a day by day daily paper) and Remna Palai (INC party every day news)

Author of Young Mizo Association at Zarkawt

Author Secretary of Aizawl Dramatic and Cultural Society

wanted to know the List of Prime Ministers of India

Moreover he had filled in as Secretary of Central Information Forum; Chairman of Literacy Committee, National Development Council of India; Member of the ninth Finance Commission of India; and Member of the Shillong Club Ltd. what’s more, Country Club of India.

Honor and acknowledgment

Biography of the Current Chief Minister of Mizoram Shri Lal Thanhawla

National Citizen Award in 1994

Mother Teresa Lifetime Achievement Award in 2009

Lalthanhawla Higher Secondary School, set up in 2011 at Serchhip was named in his honour

Lifetime Achievement Award from the Evangelical Fellowship of India (EFI) in 2014.

A game complex at Pitarte Tlang, Republic Vengthlang, Aizawl, was initiated in 2012 as Hawla Indoor Stadium.

An open lobby at Treasury Square, Aizawl, was initiated in 2015 as “Lal Thanhawla Auditorium”.

1966: Secretary of the Mizo National Front

1973: Elected as President of the gathering

1978, 1979: Elected as an official in association region races

1984: Became the Chief Minister of Mizoram

1986: Gave up his seat of Chief Minister to Pu Laldenga, as commanded in the Peace bargain marked amongst India and the MNF.

1987, 1989, 1993: Chief Minister of Mizoram

1998: Lost his MLA situate

2003: Regained his MLA situate

2008: Elected from South Tuipui and Serchhip voting demographics

2013: President of Mizoram Pradesh Congress Committee

Read here the Complete List of the Governors of Reserve Bank of India

Different activities

Originator President of Mizoram Journalists, Mizoram Hockey Association, Mizoram Football Association and in addition Mizoram Olympic Association

Administrator of North East Olympic Commission

Ex-officio Vice President of Indian Olympic Association

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *