7 Wonders of the World :: The Biggest Travel Dream

We all want to visit the new seven wonders of the world list as these are the one of the most popular heritage and natural beauties with a great history behind their formation and existence. The new 7 wonders of the world names were chosen in the year 2007 on 7th of July as per the result of voting from all over the world for seven years from 2000 to 2007.

This voting was conducted by New 7 Wonders Foundation that is headed by Canadian-Swiss Bernard Weber. This organization is Zurich (Switzerland) based and the result of the 7 New Wonders of the World Names were announced in Lisbon which are as follows…

  1. The Taj Mahal, India
  2. Petra, Republic of Jordan
  3. Colosseum, Rome
  4. Machu Picchu, Peru
  5. Chichen Itza, Mexico
  6. Great Wall of China, China
  7. Christ the Redeemer, Republic of Brazil

We will discuss all in detail below.

These are also known as the 7 ulaga athisayam in Tamil language & 7 ajube of world in Hindi Language.

There were 20 finalists out of which these 7 wonders were selected. Here are the 20 finalists of the wonders of the world:

Taj Mahal (Agra, Uttar Pradesh, India, 1632 AD), Giza Necropolis (Giza, Egypt, 2589 BC), Petra (Ma’an Governorate, Jordan, 312 BC), Colosseum (Rome, Itlay, 70 AD), Chichen Itza (Yucatan, Mexico, 600 AD), Machu Picchu (Cuzco, Peru, 1438 AD), Great Wall of China (China, 700 BC), Christ the Redeemer (Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, 1931 AD), Acropolis of Athens (Athens, Greece, 447 BC), Alhambra (Granada, Spain, 1333 AD), Angkor Wat (Angkor, Cambodia, 1113 AD), Eiffel Tower of Paris (Paris, France, 1887 AD), Hagia Sophia (Istanbul, Turkey, 360 AD), Kiyomizu-dera (Kyoto, Japan, 1633 AD), Moai (Easter Island, Chile, 1250 AD), Neuschwanstein (Fussen, Germany, 1869 AD), Red Square (Moscow, Russia, 1561 AD), Statue of Liberty (New York, United States of America, 1886 AD), Stonehenge (Amesbury, United Kingdom, 2400 BC), Sydney Opera House (Sydney, Australia, 1959 AD), Timbuktu (Timbuktu, Mali, 1327 AD).

Out of the list of these 20 finalists New 7 Wonders of the World were chosen through worldwide voting.

Let’s checkout this amazing list of seven New Wonders of the world with names and photos.

1. Taj Mahal (Agra, Uttar Pradesh, India, 1632 AD)


Taj Mahal is one of the most beautiful places in India to visit. It is listed as the UNESCO World Heritage Site. It took gigantic 22 years approximately to build and its construction was started in the year 1632 AD and lasts till 1653. It is regarded as the best example of Mughal Architecture. Construction of Taj Mahal was assigned on the shoulder of the then Architect Ustad Ahmad Lahauri by the then Mughal Emperor Shah Jahan. I would recommend you to surely visit this great piece of architecture and watch out the amazing graving on white marble. Must see the amazing 7 Natural Wonders of the World .

2. Petra (Ma’an Governorate, Republic of Jordan, 312 BC)

Petra is one of the major attractions in Jordan that was built back in about 312 BC. It is situated in the South Jordan Ma’an Governorate. It is also listed as the UNESCO World Heritage Site. This site is famous for its unique kind of rock cut architecture. The rock from where the city is carved down is of the color of the rose thus known to be the Rose City.

3. Colosseum (Rome, Itlay, 70 AD)


Colosseum is one of the UNESCO World Heritage Sites and this was built way back in 70 to 80 AD in ancient city Rome. This land mark marked the greatest fights of the gladiators of Roman Empire. This is also named as the Flavian Amphitheatre where 50,000 to 80,000 people can sit and watch the sports and other events out there in the ancient Rome. It is considered to be as the one of the finest architecture of ancient times.

Also Checkout this List of 7 Wonders of the Ancient World

4. Chichen Itza (Yucatan, Mexico, 600 AD)


Chichen Itza is the landmark of the great Maya People and is situated in Yucatan, Mexico. It was built back in 600 AD. This is a heritage site that is included in the list of the UNESCO World Heritage Sites in 1988. This site is considered to have a dense population in the old times due to its well built structure. Chichen Itza represents Mexico’s rich heritage and culture.

5. Machu Picchu (Cuzco, Peru, 1438 AD)


Machu Picchu was able to find a place in the list of the seven New Wonders of the World. If you see the place you will say it is just a valley but on examining deeply. You will find a huge and beautiful city. This was the city that was built by the Incas in 1438 AD and later on they abandoned this beautiful modern city. This site is covered in the list of UNESCO World Heritage Sites. It has become one of the major tourist attractions in the South America by the time. Must visit and watch the historical city of Incas that is also known as the “Lost City of the Incas”.

6. Great Wall of China (China, 700 BC)


The name the Great Wall of China is known to almost everyone who has studied history in school. This is the famous wall that was started building by the Chinese Emperor Qin Shihuang way back in 700 BC and later on the successors of the Chinese emperors continued its construction. It was built for the purpose of saving the China borders from foreign invasions. It is the only structure on the planet earth that is clearly visible from the space. This is the major tourist attraction in today’s time and I personally want to visit the Great Wall of China to experience Bunjee Jump over from this Great Wall. This structure is covered in the list of UNESCO World Heritage Sites.

7. Christ the Redeemer (Rio de Janeiro, Republic of Brazil, 1931 AD)


No one can forget this beautiful and the huge statue of Jesus Christ which is known by the name “Christ the Redeemer” in which it seems Jesus is blessing us all. This statue has marked its position in the the seven New Wonders of the World. This is another big example of the modern architecture. It is one of the amazing new 7 wonders of the world 2015. It was started building in the year 1922 and completed its construction in 1931 AD. This statue of Christ the Redeemer has become the symbol of Brazilian Christianity. This statue also figures the representation of Rio de Janeiro and Brazil in the world.

Hope you have enjoyed touring these ulaga athisayam 7 name list and images or popularly known as 7 wonders of the world or 7 ajoobe is duniya ke.

If you have something more about these seven wonders then our comment box is waiting for you or If you have any travel experience which you wanna share with the world then you can write travel guest post for our website.